THE POUR

Exploring Your Gluten Free Liquor Options [VIDEO]

Posted by Beau Farrell on Aug 23, 2016 10:38:12 AM

There are so many questions these days from people with gluten sensitivity and gluten free diets about what wines and spirits to try and what wines and spirits to avoid. Haskell's President Ted Farrell explores your gluten free liquor options in this edition of Quick Pours.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

What's Gluten-Free?

It's all about what that particular spirit is made from. Whether it's red wine with grapes or tequila from the agave cactus, those are clear examples of gluten free liquor.

Is There Gluten-Free Beer?

The tricky part is beer and spirits that are typically made with wheat. They have gluten. But the good news is they're making a lot of gluten free beers — brands like OmissionPyro, and others. So ask at any of our Haskell's stores if you're looking for gluten free beer.

Are There Any Gluten-Free Spirits?

There is a big debate going on over some rye whiskeys and whether all of their gluten is removed during the distillation process, or whether some remains. Some of that will be trial and error. You might have to try it and if you have a reaction, put it away and not drink that particular spirit anymore. 

On the other hand, if you like vodka, you can focus on potato vodka, like Spud Vodka, or Ciroc Vodka, which is made from grapes.

And if you are interested in gluten-free wine and spirits, you might also want to read our blog about 5 mouthwatering gluten-free liquor cocktails to try.

More Quick Pours:

Quick Pours is a series of video blogs about wine and beer. If you enjoyed this video, check these out:

Wine Sale Catalog

 

Topics: Quick Pours